Reviews



Experience of accommodation - Rating 5/5

It's very comfortable and quiet.

Reviewer:Haiyang Z | Sun 4th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


DK - Rating 5/5

Nice and comfortable place to stay.Value for money.

Response

Thank you and look forward to see you again in the very near future.

Reviewer:darius k | Sat 3rd Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Oxford Weekend - Rating 5/5

My sister and I have just spent a lovely weekend staying at The Ridings. We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived on Friday afternoon and found the twin room we had to be very clean and very comfortable. We asked about information about the surrounding area and were given good information about bus services and places to eat. Nothing was too much trouble when we asked for things when we run out of tea etc for the room. We found The Ridings a really good base for our trip to Oxford and very good value for money. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you for having us stay.

Reviewer:Helen P | Wed 17th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

This place was perfectly located (just over a mile from centre of city) so walking distance or less than £5 in taxi. It was a clean room, spacious for what we need and the price was great. We had to park around the corner as there was no space out front but car was fine. Would happily stay again - lovely cafe just 5 mins walk up the road towards the city for a lovely, reasonably priced breakfast. Very happy customers.

Reviewer:Sue B | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Very clean and friendly - Rating 4/5

I was given a double room even though I was on my own. The owner was very laid back and friendly, it was perfect for what I needed. You can walk to Oxford city center by going along the river.

Reviewer:Christian o | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 12 months ago


Great Location - Rating 4/5

Very good location. About 25 minutes walk to the city. Room clean. My only gripe is they dont leave a spare toilet roll and we were there gor 3 nights so i had to get my own. No one was on sight.

Reviewer:Elizabeth H | Tue 14th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Basic but did the job. - Rating 4/5

On the good side, nice to be upgraded from single with shared bathroom to double with ensuite which was tiny but had a lovely powerful shower. I don't feel it was made clear at the time of the booking that breakfast was not included in the price and not only was it an extra cost but it wasn't even provided in the building, I had to go to another building if I wanted it. It is quite noisy if you're not used to being on a fairly busy road. Some building work was being done whilst I was there and unfortunately on my last night the wind kept flapping a tarpaulin which disrupted my sleep rather a lot. However overall I was reasonably happy and would probably recommend, just with a warning about breakfast.

Reviewer:Hazel C | Sat 24th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


A great nights sleep - Rating 5/5

Basic room with very comfortable bed for great night sleep. For price very happy.

Reviewer:william p | Thu 30th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Good environment - Rating 4/5

I stay overnight here in October and I found this place very enjoyable. It is very close to the center and the place isn´t noisy. I come here often

Reviewer:Giulio S | Mon 16th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


A pleasant stay in Oxford - Rating 4/5

Our host was polite and helpful.Our en-suite double room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed.Breakfast was good and we were offered additional tea, coffee and toast if we wanted it.We enjoyed the vegetarian cooked breakfast.There is a bus stop nearby and it is a short journey into Oxford centre.Unfortunately the road is very busy so for a quieter stay we would recommend a room at the back of the house.

Reviewer:Anita T | Sat 8th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


A pleasant experience!! - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Ridings Guest House for one night only. Not only was the price reasonable, The host was friendly, warm and welcoming. The room was nice and spacious. Extremely clean, with modern décor. Had a ensuite with toilet and shower,and all the essentials such as kettle, iron, hairdryer, etc .Would definitely stay there again and recommend others!!Thank you.

Reviewer:Charlene J | Sat 1st Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Great guest house near the centre. - Rating 4/5

I stayed there for three nights. They have a cosy environment and the staff answers you right away if you have any inquiries.

Reviewer:Adrian S | Thu 19th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Quiet Clean and cosy.- Rating 5/5

You will just live it

Reviewer:Filipe C | Mon 5th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Good value for money - Rating 4/5

Very accessible by motorway, quiet, central to Oxford city.Owner very helpful, room clean and spaciousShared bathroom

Reviewer:Maria L | Sun 20th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Bed was great, breakfast was inexistant - Rating 3/5

The room was nice, comfortable and cosy, well furnished, clean and warm. The bathroom was small but practical. The house is situated in a nice neighborhood, quiet enough, close to the city center. For the price I paid, I found the whole satisfying. My only complaint is that I booked a bed &breakfast, and there was no breakfast, I was told due to a kitchen problem. Apparently it was written somewhere when I booked and I missed it (impossible to check afterwards), to me it was unclear, so I'd warn to be careful about that.

Reviewer:Ms. Amelie C | Wed 9th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely last minute hide away - Rating 4/5

This is a little gem of a guest house. Lovely owner, lovely room, and house conversion. Brilliant use of space for the en suite. A very nice walk into town centre past some of the historical attractions of the colleges.

Reviewer:Lauren B | Mon 17th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Stay at the Riding Guest House - Rating 5/5

I stayed one night and one day at this guest house. Room was perfectly clean as well as the bathroom. Towels in the shape of a tiny elephant was an adorable detail that I particularly loved. Comfortable bed, nice space, tv, wifi and not far from the center (25 min walk). I would go back again.

Reviewer:Rafaela Paz Garcia A | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Very good value - Rating 4/5

The place is 30mins walk from the centre of Oxford. Very convenient. It is clean, breakfast is nice and it was very quiet on a Saturday night, when I stayed there. The room was maybe slightly "tired"in decor and a little smelly but I am fine with that for the price, location and a free parking.

Reviewer:Magdalena N | Tue 13th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Great location and Helpful Staff - Rating 5/5

I came to Oxford for 2 days to look for future accomodation when starting my PhD. The guest house was close to the centre and very close to bus routes. The staff were friendly and attentive, and even gave me an umbrella to use when it was raining .

Reviewer:Jake M | Sat 27th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Getaway weekend- Rating 4/5

Small and cosy, easy access to city. Clean and pleasant rooms with lovely breakfast .

Reviewer:Lynn D | Sun 7th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Pleasant - Rating 3/5

The guest house was pleasant and quite well situated with many buses available to the city centre. The breakfast was very good and cooked to order. The only issue I had was that the single room was very musty.

Reviewer:Andrew A | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Large room in lovely guest house - Rating 4/5

This lovely guest house has large and comfortable rooms, a common room and gorgeous breakfast sun room. The owner/manager was helpful and kind, despite the fact I arrived past check in time due to traffic delays. I would highly recommend this guest house as a quiet and comfortable place to stay close to oxford.

Reviewer:Christiana M | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago